Types of Course Materials

  • Live Webinars

    This Metropolitan Opera Guild online courses includes lectures in the form of live webinars to help bring our in-person programming to our online learners.

  • Handouts

    Each lesson includes a handout with additional information as well as links to supplemental readings, providing the opportunity to engage deeply with the conductors and works under study.


Jane Marsh


Soprano Jane Marsh was the first singer to win the Gold Medal at Moscow’s International Tchaikovsky Competition. She made her debut at Italy’s Spoleto Festival as Desdemona in Verdi’s Otello and has been heard at most of the world’s major festivals, opera houses, and concert halls. In addition to Verdi, Strauss, and bel canto, her repertoire includes the heroines of Tchaikovsky and Rimsky-Korsakov. She leads master classes in the U.S. and Europe and has appeared, as performer and host, in international and U.S. radio and television programs. Her music anthology Spirit Be Joyful!, for which she created the singing translations and transliterations, was published in 2008. She joined the Guild’s roster of presenters in 2007 and is the co-creator of the Guild’s Masterly Singing series and young artist programs. She currently serves as an artistic advisor and program consultant. She was awarded the New York Handel Medallion for exceptional contributions to the city’s cultural life.

Course curriculum

  • 1

    Lecture: Sorcery and Corruption in Wagner’s Lohengrin

    • About this Lecture

    • Webinar Recording: Sorcery and Corruption in Wagner's Lohengrin

    • Handout: Sorcery and Corruption in Wagner’s Lohengrin

  • 2


    • Lecture Conclusion Survey


  • When is this lecture occuring?

    The lecture will occur as a live webinar and will take place on Wednesday, June 16 at 2:00-3:30PM EDT.

  • Can I watch the lectures after they have happened live?

    This live webinar will be recorded, and then uploaded to the course player. You will receive an email when the recording is available, and you will have access for 72 hours.